Minimizing Waste by Maximizing Creativity

Homes Made from Recycled Materials

12 Comments

A couple of years ago I experienced Garbage Warrior,  a documentary about Michael Reynolds, an architect and visionary on a mission to live off the grid by building energy-efficient and self-sufficient homes from, well, other people’s garbage. He calls these homes Earthship Biotectures and I want one!

Hypnotized by his journey, I began rethinking what I want my future life to be and it goes a lil somethin’ like this.

Like my new BFF Ana White, I want to build my home and most of the furniture in it; however, I want to do it with 100% recycled materials. Then, I would will (still working on the law of attraction thing) capture the entire adventure in the form of a television show WHILE creating a home schooling curriculum based on everything we do!

So…

I’m thinking of using a shipping container (or two) as a craft room that will be detached from our Earthship Biotecture!

You know you want to click on the pictures!

  

shipping container homes, homes made with shipping containers, homes made with recycled materials

I envision mini me reading books about art and entrepreneurship in the structure we build together using plastic or glass bottles.

Hold on a minute….won’t the plastic bottles break down as some point? Exploring the answer to this question will certainly birth lessons in science, technology, math, reading, writing, and the environment!

  

GASP! How about using concrete pipes to host slumber retreats for mommies who need to get away for a day?

Walls made from old tires or earth bags (more on this soon), construction times cut in half, utility bills of less than $50 a year – what’s not to love!

This post does not and cannot possibly cover all the goodies I’m finding in the alternate housing aisle. So stay tuned for detailed posts on Earthship Biotectures, shipping container homes, and homes made with other recycled materials. You’ll be astounded at what I’m discovering!

Now that I’ve found all these flippin’ options, I have to reorganize my vision board, recalculate my timeframes, and get busy!

Author: Tumaini @ Curbside Connections

Welcome to my blog, CURBSIDE CONNECTIONS - a Los Angeles-based, mom-owned blog. I specifically feature DIY furniture projects from around the globe! Follow me on Pinterest @CurbsideConnect, Tweet me @CurbsideConnect, or email me directly at info@curbsideconnections.com

12 thoughts on “Homes Made from Recycled Materials

  1. Pingback: Shipping Container Homes {part 2} «

  2. oh someone else found it xD

  3. Hey,

    its an nice idea with the shipping Container buildings

    maybe this will help you

    http://twotimestwentyfeet.com/p/hilfiger_s2011

  4. i would love to live in on of the Container homes.

    I saw this Container building in Berlin some month ago. Now i’m really addicted to this idea!

    http://www.twotimestwentyfeet.com/p/hilfiger_w2011

    Container buildings are a fascinating part of modern architecture. Maybe even of future Architecture. In particular in times of “green movement”

  5. Hey Miss Lady,

    Recycling shipping containers being used for liveable space. Wow! What a great concept. I working toward purchasing or building my first home. I was looking for green, sustainable architecture and materials. This, by far, is one of the best ideas I have seen. I would love to see how this architecture would hold up in areas like DC or Texas.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi Sybongile!
      Great to hear from you!
      If I remember correctly, I read about a company who is doing this is Texas. When I find the name of that company I will let you know!

      • Hi Tumaini,

        Its so great that you are interested in Shipping Container Homes !

        This is a movement that is enjoying its “second wind” so to speak we have been designing and building container homes for over 20 years, our site teaches people how to build Shipping Container Homes

        Since you like the photos of projects you might like a free copy of our book that celebrates the 30 most influential container homes ever built.

        Here is the link, feel free to download a copy.

        http://www.containerhome.info/

      • Thank you so much!
        I just entered my name and email address.
        Too excited for words – I’m already planning how I’ll use this book!

  6. You go, girl!
    I dream of doing this, too. Or, at least an energy efficient small home. I am looking into straw bale houses now. The reality of the matter is, though, that at 55, I probably won’t get around to building one. I know – 55 isn’t all that old, but I am caring for my 83-year-old father and I am not free to undertake such an adventure right now – and I hope I won’t be for a good, long time. But, a girl can dream! Hey, I’d love to watch your show! I’d even help (if it didn’t cost much.)
    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

