Minimizing Waste by Maximizing Creativity

Repurposed Pillows = Headboards

9 Comments

I was so excited to try another one of my bright ideas – using the lids of baby food jars to make “buttons” so that I could make a headboard with pillow!

 

 After covering the pillows, I used Mod Pogde and hot glue to adhere the burlap fabric to the lids.

     

After measuring each pillow to find the middle, I used a really strong beading thread (I think I should have used reupholstery thread) to make the X. Using hot glue, I simply stuck the buttons to the pillows and attached the pillows to the wall.

Total cost: $50!

HOWEVER – these other pillow headboards make me want to completely redo mine!

   

Author: Tumaini @ Curbside Connections

Welcome to my blog, CURBSIDE CONNECTIONS - a Los Angeles-based, mom-owned blog. I specifically feature DIY furniture projects from around the globe! Follow me on Pinterest @CurbsideConnect, Tweet me @CurbsideConnect, or email me directly at info@curbsideconnections.com

9 thoughts on “Repurposed Pillows = Headboards

  1. How do you attach the pillows to the wall?

    • Hi DeeDee,

      Because I live in an apartment, I didn’t want to attach the pillows to the wall. However, if I had my own place I would either:
      NAIL THE PILLOWS TO THE WALL – placing the nail right in the middle of the pillow before putting the “button” on it.
      OR
      STAPLE GUN PILLOWS TO A BOARD – use a staple gun to attach pillows to a board and attach the board to the wall.

      I hope this helps!

      Tumaini

      • How was the pillows attached to the wall? I live in apartment and want to do it. Thanks for such a great idea

      • Instead of using nails, which I’ve seen, I simply used hot glue applied with a hot glue gun. The problem is that when I was ready to take them down, the paint peeled. If I do this project again, I will probably lean a board against the wall (and glue or nail the pillows to the board) OR I would hang fabric on the wall from ceiling to floor and glue or sew the pillows on the fabric.

  2. Pingback: 101 Green Home Decor Tutorials - remodelingtherapy.com

  3. Really creative and inviting! I posted a link back to the tutorial here:

    http://www.charmingink.com/blog/2011/7/7/upcycled-pillow-headboard.html

  4. That was way cool. I love it! What a brilliant idea.

Leave a Reply

