Minimizing Waste by Maximizing Creativity

Weekend DIY: Jewelry Organizer

5 Comments

Hand making a jewelry organizer was the next item on my  TO DIY list. Then the ladies at UCreate announced their “Create With Me”  project for the Month of May, which provided the extra motivation I needed.

***************************************************************************************************

  

Just like Peace, Love, 2 Sisters I used old picture frames and mesh (with African fabric added to the back) to create my earring displays.

***************************************************************************************************

Now, where do I put my bracelets, necklaces, rings, and earrings with posts and clasps??

****************************************************************************************************

This is what I used:

  *Wine corks, * Two 24″-long boards, *Fabric, *Glue gun, *Wood nails (two different lengths depending on the size of your cork), *Mod Podge (applied w/ paint brush), *Scissors, hammer, & knife (to slice the corks, if desired)

****************************************************************************************************   

 

After using Mod Podge to glue the fabric to the board, I marked the corks where I wanted them with a marker. Then, I hammered a nail through the middle of the corks, then hammered that into the board.

***************************************************************************************************

I hung both boards using a loosely woven fabric (you’ll find out why in a moment) that was glued and tied to each end of the boards.

***************************************************************************************************

I used the loosely woven fabric to hang my hoop earrings that have posts.

***************************************************************************************************

Lordess of the RINGS!

   

I sliced a cork into quarters and hot glued the four pieces to the top of my necklace board. As I collect more rings, I’ll add more ring holders.

***************************************************************************************************

Even my little ones have a place to live now. I stuck my small earrings with posts right into the cork!! This is was a happy accident.

  

***************************************************************************************************

Extra credit, you say! I agree.

When we were living in Ashland, OR  I made some jewelry organizers for an AIDS/HIV fundraiser for the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. I sold a few of them and donated the rest. I’m so glad I kept the pictures.

   

  

***************************************************************************************************

Thank you, UCreate, for motivating me to get this done!

Author: Tumaini @ Curbside Connections

Welcome to my blog, CURBSIDE CONNECTIONS - a Los Angeles-based, mom-owned blog. I specifically feature DIY furniture projects from around the globe! Follow me on Pinterest @CurbsideConnect, Tweet me @CurbsideConnect, or email me directly at info@curbsideconnections.com

5 thoughts on “Weekend DIY: Jewelry Organizer

  1. What a fantastic idea! And it looks great!

  2. Pingback: Wine Crate Furniture «

  3. Wow, I love this! Very beautiful!
    ~lena

Leave a Reply

